Skip to content


Conference Programme

9.00 - 9.05

Welcome – Damien O’Reilly, RTE

9.05 - 9.15

Opening Address – ASA President

9.15 - 10.30

Session 1 : Global Focus - Science and Agricultural Sustainability

Chair: Damien O’Reilly

Plenary speaker Prof. Frank O’Mara, Director, Teagasc

Science and Agricultural Sustainability from the Irish and European perspective

Followed by a panel discussion with Prof. John Roche, Chief Science Adviser, Ministry of Primary Industries, New Zealand and a USDA representative.

10.30 - 11.00

Teas & Coffee

11.00 - 12.15

Session 2: Ireland Focus – Science and Agricultural Sustainability

Chair: Justin McCarthy, Editor, Irish Farmers’ Journal

John Murray, Director of Markets, Bord Bia

Dr. Siobhan Kavanagh, Communications Manager, SignPost Farms Programme, Teagasc

Prof. Frank Monahan, Head of School of Agriculture and Food Science, University College Dublin

12.15 - 13.30

Session 3: Industry Focus – Science and Agricultural Sustainability

Chair: Damien O’Reilly, RTE

John Egerton, Beef Farmer, Northern Ireland

Dr. Siobhan Walsh, Irish Farmers’ Journal

Oliver Kiernan, CEO, Brandon Bioscience and Hebridean Seaweed

Thomas Ryan, Senior Sustainability Manager, Glanbia

Fergal Morris, General Manager, MSD Animal Health, Ireland

13.30 - 14.30


14.30 - 15.15

Fellowship Presentation

Prof. Laurence Shalloo, Teagasc

15.15 - 15.45

Ministerial Address

Simon Coveney, TD, Minister for Foreign Affairs & Minister for Defence

Close of Conference